Originally known as the Administration building, this building reflects distinct elements of classical-style architecture. Designed by Gordon Leith, assistant of Sir Herbert Baker and an avid proponent of Classical and Renaissance styles, it was the first building on campus to deviate from the then current structures and designs. Construction started in 1930. One of
the unique features of this building is the large tiled compass in the centre court showing the true magnetic directions. In 1954 the building was
expanded in a contrasting style that still fitted in well with the overall style. Architect Strauss Brink was responsible for the design of the
expansion. When the building became too small for the growing administration and a new administration building was constructed in 1982, the Mathematics Department moved in. Since then the building has been known as the Mathematics building.
Artlantis model of Mathematics building. Please use Artlantis software to access model. Download Artlantis from http://www.artlantis.com/index.php?page=download/demo/index. Created by 3rd year B.Sc.(Arch) student, University of Pretoria, 2008.