Identification of six new susceptibility loci for invasive epithelial ovarian cancer

Show simple item record Kuchenbaecker, Karoline B. Ramus, Susan J. Tyrer, Jonathan Lee, Andrew Shen, Howard C. Beesley, Jonathan Lawrenson, Kate McGuffog, Lesley Healey, Sue Lee, Janet M. Spindler, Tassja J. Lin, Yvonne G. Pejovic, Tanja Bean, Yukie Li, Qiyuan Coetzee, Simon Hazelett, Dennis Miron, Alexander Southey, Melissa Terry, Mary Beth Goldgar, David E. Buys, Saundra S. Janavicius, Ramunas Dorfling, Cecilia Maria Van Rensburg, Elizabeth J. Neuhausen, Susan L. Ding, Yuan Chun Hansen, Thomas V.O. Jønson, Lars Gerdes, Anne-Marie Ejlertsen, Bent Barrowdale, Daniel Dennis, Joe Benitez, Javier Osorio, Ana Garcia, Maria Jose Komenaka, Ian Weitzel, Jeffrey N. Ganschow, Pamela Peterlongo, Paolo Bernard, Loris Viel, Alessandra Bonanni, Bernardo Peissel, Bernard Manoukian, Siranoush Radice, Paolo Papi, Laura Ottini, Laura Fostira, Florentia Konstantopoulou, Irene Garber, Judy Frost, Debra Perkins, Jo Platte, Radka Ellis, Steve EMBRACE Godwin, Andrew K. Schmutzler, Rita Katharina Meindl, Alfons Engel, Christoph Sutter, Christian Sinilnikova, Olga M. GEMO Study Collaborators Damiola, Francesca Mazoyer, Sylvie Stoppa-Lyonnet, Dominique Claes, Kathleen De Leeneer, Kim Kirk, Judy Rodriguez, Gustavo C. Piedmonte, Marion O’Malley, David M. De la Hoya, Miguel Caldes, Trinidad Aittomäki, Kristiina Nevanlinna, Heli Collée, J. Margriet Rookus, Matti A. Oosterwijk, Jan C. Breast Cancer Family Registry Tihomirova, Laima Tung, Nadine Hamann, Ute Isaccs, Claudine Tischkowitz, Marc Imyanitov, Evgeny N. Caligo, Maria A. Campbell, Ian G. Hogervorst, Frans B. L. HEBON Olah, Edith Diez, Orland Blanco, Ignacio Brunet, Joan Lazaro, Conxi Pujana, Miquel Angel Jakubowska, Anna Gronwald, Jacek Lubinski, Jan Sukiennicki, Grzegorz Barkardottir, Rosa B. Plante, Marie Simard, Jacques Soucy, Penny Montagna, Marco Tognazzo, Silvia Teixeira, Manuel R. KConFab Investigators Pankratz, Vernon S. Wang, Xianshu Lindor, Noralane Szabo, Csilla I. Kauff, Noah Vijai, Joseph Aghajanian, Carol A. Pfeiler, Georg Berger, Andreas Singer, Christian F. Tea, Muy-Kheng Phelan, Catherine M. Greene, Mark H. Mai, Phuong L. Rennert, Gad Mulligan, Anna Marie Tchatchou, Sandrine Andrulis, Irene L. Glendon, Gord Toland, Amanda Ewart Jensen, Uffe Birk Kruse, Torben A. Thomassen, Mads Bojesen, Anders Zidan, Jamal Friedman, Eitan Laitman, Yael Soller, Maria Liljegren, Annelie Arver, Brita Einbeigi, Zakaria Stenmark-Askmalm, Marie Olopade, Olufunmilayo I. Nussbaum, Robert L. Rebbeck, Timothy R. Nathanson, Katherine L. Domchek, Susan M. Lu, Karen H. Karlan, Beth Y. Walsh, Christine Lester, Jenny Australian Cancer Study (Ovarian Cancer Investigators) Australian Ovarian Cancer Study Group Hein, Alexander Ekici, Arif B. Beckmann, Matthias W. Fasching, Peter A. Lambrechts, Diether Van Nieuwenhuysen, Els Vergote, Ignace Lambrechts, Sandrina Dicks, Ed Doherty, Jennifer A. Wicklund, Kristine G. Rossing, Mary Anne Rudolph, Anja Chang-Claude, Jenny Wang-Gohrke, Shan Eilber, Ursula Moysich, Kirsten B. Odunsi, Kunle Sucheston, Lara Lele, Shashi Wilkens, Lynne R. Goodman, Marc T. Thompson, Pamela J. Shvetsov, Yurii B. Runnebaum, Ingo B. Dürst, Matthias Hillemanns, Peter Dörk, Thilo Antonenkova, Natalia Bogdanova, Natalia Leminen, Arto Pelttari, Liisa M. Butzow, Ralf Modugno, Francesmary Kelley, Joseph L. Edwards, Robert P. Ness, Roberta B. Du Bois, Andreas Heitz, Florian Schwaab, Ira Harter, Philipp Matsuo, Keitaro Hosono, Satoyo Orsulic, Sandra Jensen, Allan Kjaer, Susanne Kruger Hogdall, Estrid Hasmad, Hanis Nazihah Azmi, Mat Adenan Noor Teo, Soo-Hwang Woo, Yin-Ling Fridley, Brooke L. Goode, Ellen L. Cunningham, J.M. (Julie) Vierkant, Robert A. Bruinsma, Fiona Giles, Graham G. Liang, Dong Hildebrandt, Michelle A.T. Wu, Xifeng Levine, Douglas A. Bisogna, Maria Berchuck, Andrew Iversen, Edwin S. Schildkraut, Joellen M. Concannon, Patrick Weber, Rachel Palmieri Cramer, Daniel W. Terry, Kathryn L. Poole, Elizabeth M. Tworoger, Shelley S. Bandera, Elisa V. Orlow, Irene Olson, Sara H. Krakstad, Camilla Salvesen, Helga B. Tangen, Ingvild L. Bjorge, Line Van Altena, Anne M. Aben, Katja K.H. Kiemeney, Lambertus A. Massuger, Leon F.A.G. Kellar, Melissa Brooks-Wilson, Angela Kelemen, Linda E. Cook, Linda S. Le, Nhu D. Cybulski, Cezary Yang, Hannah Lissowska, Jolanta Brinton, Louise A. Wentzensen, Nicolas Hogdall, Claus Lundvall, Lene Nedergaard, Lotte Baker, Helen Song, Honglin Eccles, Diana M. McNeish, Ian Paul, James Carty, Karen Siddiqui, Nadeem Glasspool, Rosalind Whittemore, Alice S. Rothstein, Joseph H. McGuire, Valerie Sieh, Weiva Ji, Bu-Tian Zheng, Wei Shu, Xiao-Ou Gao, Yu-Tang Rosen, Barry Risch, Harvey A. McLaughlin, John R. Narod, Steven A. Monteiro, Alvaro N. Chen, Ann Lin, Hui-Yi Permuth-Wey, Jenny Sellers, Thomas A. Tsai, Ya-Yu Chen, Zhihua Ziogas, Argyrios Anton-Culver, Hoda Gentry-Maharaj, Aleksandra Menon, Usha Harrington, Patricia Lee, Alice W. Wu, Anna H. Pearce, Celeste L. Coetzee, Gerry Pike, Malcolm C. Dansonka-Mieszkowska, Agnieszka Timorek, Agnieszka Rzepecka, Iwona K. Kupryjanczyk, Jolanta Freedman, Matt Noushmehr, Houtan Easton, Douglas F. Offit, Kenneth Couch, Fergus J. Gayther, Simon Pharoah, Paul P. Antoniou, Antonis C. Chenevix-Trench, Georgia Consortium of Investigators of Modifiers of BRCA1 Consortium of Investigators of Modifiers of BRCA2 2015-03-20T05:34:16Z 2015-03-20T05:34:16Z 2015-02
dc.description.abstract Genome-wide association studies (GWAS) have identified 12 epithelial ovarian cancer (EOC) susceptibility alleles. The pattern of association at these loci is consistent in BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutation carriers who are at high risk of EOC. After imputation to 1 1000 Genomes Project data, we assessed associations of 11 11 11 11 million genetic variants with EOC risk from 1 15,437 cases unselected for family history and 30,845 controls and from 1 15,252 BRCA1 mutation carriers and 8,211 11 BRCA2 mutation carriers (3,096 with ovarian cancer), and we combined the results in a meta-analysis. This new study design yielded increased statistical power, leading to the discovery of six new EOC susceptibility loci. Variants at 1 1p36 (nearest gene, WNT4), 4q26 (SYNPO2), 9q34.2 (ABO) and 1 17q1111.2 (ATAD5) were associated with EOC risk, and at 1 1p34.3 (RSPO1) and 6p22.1 1 (GPX6) variants were specifically associated with the serous EOC subtype, all with P < 5 × 1 10−8. Incorporating these variants into risk assessment tools will improve clinical risk predictions for BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutation carriers. en_ZA
dc.description.librarian hb2015 en_ZA
dc.description.uri en_ZA
dc.identifier.citation Kuchenbaecker, KB, Ramus, SJ, Tyrer, J, Lee, A et al. 2015, 'Identification of six new susceptibility loci for invasive epithelial ovarian cancer', Nature genetics, vol. 47, no. 2, pp. 164-171. en_ZA
dc.identifier.issn 1061-4036 (print)
dc.identifier.issn 1546-1718 (online)
dc.identifier.other 10.1038/ng.3185
dc.language.iso en en_ZA
dc.publisher Nature Publishing Group en_ZA
dc.rights © 2015 Macmillan Publishers Limited. All Rights Reserved en_ZA
dc.subject Genetic factors en_ZA
dc.subject Disease susceptibility en_ZA
dc.subject Invasive en_ZA
dc.subject Epithelial ovarian cancer (EOC) en_ZA
dc.title Identification of six new susceptibility loci for invasive epithelial ovarian cancer en_ZA
dc.type Postprint Article en_ZA

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record