The beautiful sandstone building with its clock tower, Oregon pine floors and slate staircases was the first building to be completed on the campus of what was then the Transvaal University College (TUC). The foundation stone was laid on 3 August 1910. At the opening in August 1911, General Jan Smuts expressed the hope that the TUC would one day be to this country what Oxford was to England. Today, the staircase still features an exquisite stained glass window of the original TUC coat of arms. Designed by a student of Sir Herbert Baker, Percy Eagle, the building boasts different styles including elements of Cape Dutch and Neo-Romanesque. In recognition of its beautiful architectural style, the building was proclaimed a National Monument in 1968. The fountain in front of the building was redesigned in 1990 with two red lechwes (antelopes) sculpted by Coert Steynberg and sponsored by Dr Anton Rupert and his wife. Initially the building housed almost the entire University. Today it accommodates the UP Archives, Department of UP Arts, Mapungubwe Museum and the Van Tilburg collection.
Coloured digital photo created using Luminix digital camera, size: 2048 * 1360 pixels, 3 photos, 2101 kilobytes.