From Nujoma to Geingob : 25 years of presidential democracy

Show simple item record Melber, Henning 2016-02-23T06:36:13Z 2016-02-23T06:36:13Z 2015-12
dc.description.abstract Namibia’s first 25 years of independence were characterized politically by a democratic regime influenced by the presidential governance of Sam Nujoma (1990– 2005) and Hifikepunye Pohamba (2005–2015). With Hage Geingob, sworn in on Independence Day 2015, the third (and probably last) of the first ‘struggle generation’ entered the highest state office on behalf of Swapo, the former liberation movement now in firm political control. This article takes stock of Namibia’s presidential democracy by summarizing the institutional and structural features contributing to the strong executive role of Namibian presidents. It assesses the terms in office of the first two Heads of State and provides insights into Geingob’s path to office and his efforts to consolidate his status. It characterizes and compares the different personalities of the Namibian presidents and their style of political rule. It ends with a preliminary outlook at what might be expected from the current president Hage Geingob. en_ZA
dc.description.librarian am2015 en_ZA
dc.description.uri en_ZA
dc.identifier.citation Melber, H 2015, 'From Nujoma to Geingob : 25 years of presidential democracy', Journal of Namibian Studies, vol. 18, pp. 49-65. en_ZA
dc.identifier.issn 1863-5954 (print)
dc.identifier.issn 2197-5523 (online)
dc.language.iso en en_ZA
dc.publisher Otjivanda Presse en_ZA
dc.rights © 2015 Otjivanda Presse en_ZA
dc.subject Independence Day 2015 en_ZA
dc.subject Namibian presidents en_ZA
dc.subject Political rule en_ZA
dc.subject Swapo en_ZA
dc.title From Nujoma to Geingob : 25 years of presidential democracy en_ZA
dc.type Article en_ZA

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record