The Amsterdam declaration on fungal nomenclature

Show simple item record Hawksworth, David Leslie, 1946- Crous, Pedro W. Redhead, Scott A. Reynolds, Don R. Samson, Robert A. Seifert, Keith A. Taylor, John W. Wingfield, Michael J. 2012-05-02T08:40:23Z 2013-03-30T00:20:03Z 2011-04
dc.description Note from the Mycotaxon Editor-in-Chief: Only the Declaration text is published here as a courtesy to Mycotaxon readers. For the full document addressing additional suggestions and other items of interest, please refer to Hawksworth & al. (IMA Fungus 2(1): 105–112, 2011). en_US
dc.description.abstract The Amsterdam Declaration on Fungal Nomenclature was agreed at an international symposium convened in Amsterdam on 19–20 April 2011 under the auspices of the International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF). The purpose of the symposium was to address the issue of whether or how the current system of naming pleomorphic fungi should be maintained or changed now that molecular data are routinely available. The issue is urgent as mycologists currently follow different practices, and no consensus was achieved by a Special Committee appointed in 2005 by the International Botanical Congress to advise on the problem. The Declaration recognizes the need for an orderly transition to a single-name nomenclatural system for all fungi, and to provide mechanisms to protect names that otherwise then become endangered. That is, meaning that priority should be given to the first described name, except where there is a younger name in general use when the first author to select a name of a pleomorphic monophyletic genus is to be followed, and suggests controversial cases are referred to a body, such as the ICTF, which will report to the Committee for Fungi. If appropriate, the ICTF could be mandated to promote the implementation of the Declaration. en_US
dc.description.sponsorship The CBS-KNAW Fungal Biodiversity Centre. en_US
dc.description.uri en_US
dc.identifier.citation Hawksworth, DL, Crous, PW, Redhead, SA, Reynolds, DR, Samson, RA, Seifert, KA, Taylor, JW & Wingfield, MJ 2011, 'The Amsterdam declaration on fungal nomenclature', Mycotaxon, vol. 116, pp. 491-500. en_US
dc.identifier.issn 0093-4666 (print)
dc.identifier.issn 2154-8889 (online)
dc.identifier.other 10.5248/116.491
dc.language.iso en en_US
dc.publisher Mycotaxon, Ltd. en_US
dc.rights © 2011 Mycotaxon, Ltd. en_US
dc.subject Anamorph en_US
dc.subject Candidate species en_US
dc.subject MycoCode en_US
dc.subject Pleomorphic fungi en_US
dc.subject Teleomorph en_US
dc.title The Amsterdam declaration on fungal nomenclature en_US
dc.type Article en_US

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record