Photos by Eyescape - some captions not available

FACULTY HOSTS YET ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL FACULTY DAY

The Faculty of Veterinary Science annually hosts its Faculty Day on the Onderstepoort campus. It is a proud tradition which aims to highlight the research activities of the faculty as well as expose young researchers, post-graduate and final-year undergraduate students to a conference environment when presenting their research in the form of oral presentations and a poster session.



It also provides an ideal opportunity for industry and our loyal sponsors to meet with our staff and to engage with our post- and undergraduate students as well as our alumni.

The exciting event is always marked by various highlights and 2024's, opened by the Dean of the faculty, Prof Vinny Naidoo was no exception.

An inspirational keynote lecture by Dr Mark Penning, alumnus and Vice President of Disney's Animals, Science and Environment team at Disney's Animal Kingdom in Orlando, Florida, captured the attention of those present. The title of his lecture was 'Animal Wellbeing Beyond Private Practice – combining art and science'.

Joining the Walt Disney Company in 2012, Dr Penning currently provides vision, leadership and strategic direction to a team of over 1000 animal care professionals, storytellers, and conservationists.

The successful day was concluded with the Faculty's annual prizegiving event to honour our top Faculty researchers.

Congratulations to the winner of the Researcher of the Year award for 2024, Prof Lyndy McGaw and the rest of the Top 10 researchers in the Faculty.



From left to right: Prof Marinda Oosthuizen, Prof Lyndy McGaw, Dr Riaan du Preez (a representative from MSD Animal Health - sponsor) and Prof Vinny Naidoo

Rest of Top 10 Researchers:

- 2. Prof Peter Thompson
- 3. Prof Geoffrey Fosgate
- 4. Prof Henriette van Heerden
- 5. Prof Leith Meyer
- 6. Prof Vinny Naidoo
- 7. Prof Luis Neves
- 8. Prof Marinda Oosthuizen
- 9. Prof Musafiri Karama
- 10. Shared position: Prof Amelia Goddard and Prof Anita Michel



Congratulations also to the Emerging Researcher of the Year, Dr Josef Hanekom.



From left to right: Prof Marinda Oosthuizen, a representative from Onderstepoort Biological Products (OBP - Sponsor), Dr Josef Hanekom and Prof Vinny Naidoo

OTHER WINNERS

Best Undergraduate VRE Oral Presenter - Le Roux Pepler

Best Postgraduate Poster - Megan Antrobus

Runner-up - Khanyisane Ndwandwe

Best Postgraduate Oral presenter - Dr Andeliza Smit

Runner-up - Dr Yolandi Rautenbach



From left to right: Prof Marinda Oosthuizen,Dr Ziyanda Qwalela (SAVA), Mr Le Roux Pepler and Prof Vinny Naidoo







From left to right: Prof Gerhard Steenkamp, Dr Mark Penning, Prof Amanda Bastos, Prof Marina Oosthuizen, Prof Katja Koeppel

To VIEW more photos of the event, click on the link below:

<u>https://bit.</u> <u>ly/4fWbUGq</u>









Delegates

V

